Paris-Prep – what not to miss in capital of France

As some of you might already know through facebook: I am going to PARIS, at the end of the month for a few days of indulgence in pure selfishness also known as traveling alone. (click here for tips for traveling alone).Yes, that’s right, I will go to the city of romance entirely by myself and enjoy my own company.

I like to plan my trips a little bit, so I don’t find out about all the shopping and art gems after upon my return home. Sometimes I also ask friends for tips on what to do and where to eat. This time my friend Susi, who called the Paris her home for a year in 2009 and 2010 has put together an itinerary for me. I thought I’d share it with everybody here:

  • Galerie 59 http://www.59rivoli.org/
  •  walk through: Marais: 4em arrondissement
  • Centre Pompidou
  • Les halles (jardin)
  • Louvre
  • Notre Dame
  • Ile Saint Louise
  • Tour d’Eiffel
  • Moulin rouge (82, Boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris)
  • Maison de Victor Hugo (6, place des Vosges 75004 Paris)
  • Phanteon
  • La Sorbonne
  • Jardin du Luxembourg
  • Sacre Couer
  • La perle, petit café (78 Rue Vieille du Temple, 75003 Paris)
  • Place de la concorde
  • Rue Fbg St Honoré 75008 Paris, home to Chanel, Dior, Lanvin
  • Musée de l’art moderne (11 Avenue du Président Wilson 75116 Paris)
  • Palais de Tokyo (13 Avenue du Président Wilson, 75116 Paris)
  • Jardins du Trocadéro
  • Musée d’orsay ( 1 Rue de la Legion d’honneur 75007 Paris)
  • Place de l’opera
  • Galeries Lafayette
My own reading material:

Does anyone  have any good Off-The-Beaten-Track tips for Paris?

5 thoughts on “Paris-Prep – what not to miss in capital of France

  1. Definitely don’t miss out on the Sacre Coeur! Especially if the weather is nice when you’re there. I used to spend hours there just reading and munching -they have nice icecream up there as well ;). The Musée d’Orsay, Marais and Jardin du Luxembourg are also amazing, and it’s worth finding out what time the closest boulangerie to you opens in the morning and getting up early for a freshly baked croissant (I warn you, it’s usually very early but… SO worth it). Also, you have to have a cigarette under the Eiffel Tower.. it’s a thing. And eat lots of cheese. And baguette. And saucisson. Ah, i’m quite jealous! 🙂

  2. Can’t see Montmartre on this list, but it’s a must-experience area (behind Sacré Coeur). Oh, and you must go to Quartier Latin. Soo lovely atmosphere and lots of people chilling and drinking at the many out-door cafés. And yes, buy a macaroon or two ot La Durée on Champs- Élysées 🙂 And remember to eat LOTS of crêpes with nutella and pain au chocolats ❤

    Out of the things on your list I would def recommend Jardin de Luxembourg if the weather is nice and Sacré-Coeur no matter what. There's a wonderful atmosphere in the cathedral, even I (and I'm not religious at all) loved being there and listening to the nuns singing.

    You're lucky, bon voyage!!

  3. Hey,
    Your itinerary looks brilliant already but, in case you fancy something else, I didn’t see Arc de Triomphe in there, I really think is worth it. Also the side streets near Notre Dame are brilliant, just wonder off in any direction for a few hours. It is a good idea to save some money to have at least one meal by the river over looking at Notre Dame as well.

    Oh and if you are up for it and you still have time, go and visit
    http://en.chateauversailles.fr/homepage it may be outside Paris but is soo beautiful, even if you only go to the gardens which are huge and full of sculptures.

    Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

